Welcome to Taiwan! Stone House, Hua Lien (Part 2)

6 Dec
 Here is my latest review for Stone House Minsu and the Hua Lien cabbie that i engaged.

As usual, i did my booking via E-mail. Auntie Liu remembered me (Not after some reminders) and is all pleased about me bring my dad there this time.

We also asked her to help link us up with Mr Chen Guang Fa, our previous Hua lien cabbie guide. Although reviews of Mr Chen has been doing down slope, we decided to try him again since he is associated with Stone House, Auntie Liu whom we had a very good experience with the other time.

On that day, she was at Hua Lien Station to receive us…She informed us that our guide for the day was Ah Bin –> Mr Chen’s Brother-in-law –> his disciple. Hmm..why am i not surprise? I’ve read in forums that “popular” Hua Lien cabbies are fond of introducing business to their so-called disciple. We decided to stay “Positive” and see how it goes.

Ah Bin was not as initiative as Mr Chen. FYI the rate that i paid was for Mr Chen (i did not get any discount when it turn out to be Ah Bin). It was more like a Q & A session. “Where is this place that we are going” “What is the name of this place?” these are the basic that we should be told right. Not prompted. If you didnt ask then too bad. . .

 Let’s just put it this way.. Ah Bin is not all bad. He was kinder than he looks. He is always looking out for us, encourage us to “go to the limit”. Ask for his opinion on things in Hua Lien and he would gladly offer his 2 cents worth.

I’d rate him:  2.5/5 tour leading skill,  3/5 for his service, 4/5 driving skill 

However, Mr Chen made up for lost time by meeting us at the “Sashimi” place (Fish Port). He apologies and explained that he brought 2 girls to Taroko today, the road is difficult and he is not confident of allowing others to do it. So he insisted on bringing them personally. Well, totally understandable.

Mr Chen is really friendly. He recognises us immeidately.

  

For NT50 per person, you get to enjoy a set of Sashimi. In our case, we had NT1500 of servings. I warn you, i am not a raw eater but these fishes are good ! No fishy-smell! AND SO CHEAP !!!!! Dad was so in love with the fishes that he asked if we can order fried fish.They will do it when there is a min of 3 fishes (true lah, if order 1 fish only they waste their oil). The cost for 3 fishes is 350NT if i remembered.IT WAS HEAVENLY GOOOOOOOOD.  Again, i am not a Fish-fan. But hell, these are really naturally sweeten fishes.

 

Stone House Minsu

Stone house

Stone House was FULL HOUSE that day we arrived. All from Singapore. The power of word-of-mouth.

We have a family of 5, a young couple with 2 kids, 2 x a couple of youngsters, 2 girls …

 Auntie Liu was trying her best not to neglect anyone in the house. She is really hospitality. All of her guests are first-timers except us! We are like a walking advestisment because she kept telling eveyone in sight that this is our second time to the house. haha..

 This is our triple room. There is a sofa bed + queen bed. The toilet is very pretty! A cute bath tub~

The room has a balcony too.

P.s: I have introduced many of my friends/colleagues to Stone House and they all came back with good experiences. Quote my name when you are reserving a room, you might just get a cheaper rate O!

 i say might because it is my wisful thinking. ha

Initially, i was thinking if i should give other minsu a try since i have stayed with Stone house before. But because i am bringing dad this time, i don’t want anything to go wrong. I am certain that choosing Stone House would not go too wrong, hence i am sticking with it.

Of course, we tried the Fire Works too ! It’s totally the highlight !!!! This time, we bought NT1500 worth of stuff to put on the sky. We combined orders with 2 other girls, each of us paid NT300.

 Weather was a bit insane when we were there. As you can see dark clouds approaching. Thankfully, there was no major storm/rain, just light drizzling that would not bother anyone : )

At night, we went to the “largest” Hua Lien Night Market. Their formation is of a “triangle”. Maybe it was a weekday because it was not as happening as i thought it should be~

Hua Lien is famous for their “Muay Ji”. I personally don’t find it especially good lah. There are packed ones and freshly made ones that you can buy back.  

On your way to the train station, remember to buy 铁路便当 ! well, it’s just packet rice in Singapore terms. tsk tsk.

They recomend us a shop that is infront of the train staion (picture below).. buy it there instead of the 7-11 in the station!

There is even a promotion like buy before 1pm and you get a free Green/Red tea ! Super cool!

To book Stone House Min Su

Email: sutohome@gmail.com

Auntie Liu contacts: +886 933 485 552/ +886 932 345 151

Website:  http://www.netete.com/stone/

Remarks: a lot of you are confused at the rates stated on the website…  you just refer tothe charges for  假日 (weekends) 平日 (weekdays) 😀

19 Responses to “Welcome to Taiwan! Stone House, Hua Lien (Part 2)”

  1. Lish April 12, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    Hi, I chanced upon your blog when searching for Stone Minsu. My husband and I are planning to stay there for 1 night in May.

    I also enquired Mrs Liu about the Taroko 1 day tour. She quoted me 一日游包车2200元. Can you share how much you paid for your day trip?

    • travelnblog April 12, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

      Hi Lish,

      That is the charges for 2 pax : )

  2. Cynthia October 6, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

    Hi, your travel blog on the stone house minshu catches my attention and it really make me want to stay there and go for the sashimi treat :p.

    Could you advise how much you pay for your stay per night? Is 2D1N trip at there is good enough or shld I take a 3D2N trip?

    Can I email Auntie Liu in English for room booking or it has to be in Chinese?

    Looking forward to your reply 🙂

    Thanks

    • travelnblog October 7, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

      Hello Cynthia!

      Thank you for reading 🙂

      The room rate is as per Stone house website: http://www.netete.com/stone/
      I would say 2D1N is enough~~

      Yes, you can e-mail her in English..but keep it simple. Sometimes she has to get guests who can read English to translate for her :p

      I’m sure you will like this minsu experience. Let me know if you need any other advice!

  3. Cynthia October 9, 2010 at 4:58 pm #

    Hi

    Omg! my chinese is equally worst :p hahahaha
    we are confused on the room rating on the website, my friend told me there is wkday and wkend price, what is the fixed price for? would you be able to advise :p

    Do you have any good recommedation of hotel in Taipei?

    Thanks 🙂

    • travelnblog October 13, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

      Hello Cynthia,

      I have sent you an e-mail…providing you with more information. Wonder if you got it ? 🙂

      Feel free to let me know if you need help!

  4. juuyi November 8, 2010 at 1:54 am #

    Hi! I was googling for some minsu in Hualien and I chanced upon your blog.

    I’m gonna travel alone (a lady) to to Hualien this end of month and was hoping to see the taroko gorge. was planning to stay over a night so that i need not rush back to taipei on the very day. Would like to know what does the 1day tour which the cab driver includes? roughly how much would I be paying for a service like this? thanks so much for anwsering!

    • travelnblog November 8, 2010 at 8:43 am #

      Hello juuyi!

      Taiwan is bascially a safe and easy place to travel alone… I’m sure you will have great fun!

      It’s a great idea to stay for one night if you’re travelling to Taroko. The tour include a number of places… actually because We came down from Sun Moon Lake, so the route might be different.

      The charge is by per car, I am not sure if the driver will “combine” you with some other tourist (probably will, to save cost) I think the charge will be about NT2000. Do let me know if you need any other info! : )

  5. Tong Huat November 13, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

    hi,

    saw ur blog while searching for stonehouse. strongly recommended by quite a few people in forum so gonna check it out next march. can i just ask you what are the charges like? i am quite confused regarding the fixed price column… and how did u pay for the deposits?

    and how much did u pay the cabby (ah bin) for the 1day trip? i am going in a group of 6…

    thanks in advance!!

    Regards
    Tong Huat

    • travelnblog November 15, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

      @Tong Huat: Hello there, thank you for dropping by my blog.
      You can actually refer to the charges here http://www.netete.com/stone/room.htm
      Just look at 假日 (Weekends) or 平日 (Weekdays) You do not have to pay deposit, you will only pay the room charges when you reach the minsu~

      In a group of 6, you will probably be taking a 7-seater cab. If i still remember… i was charged NT6000 the last time round (for a group of 6 pax) Ah bin does not drive a 7-seater cab… if possible, try to request for Mr Chen Guang Fa.. he is a better tour guide than Ah bin 😡

      Let me know if you need any other help! : )

      • Tong Huat November 16, 2010 at 2:06 am #

        Thanks a lot for clarifying the rates! Its much clearer now since i don’t have to look at the fixed price column. In this case stonehouse’s charges are quite good! Quite worth it i would say. =)

        The NT6000 for the tour is a bit steep though, have to discuss with my friends. Eh, can i just check with you again.. is it convenient to travel around Hualian on our own? And do you happen to visit Taichung City before? I have only to Taipei and next march will be the first time venturing out to Hualian and Taichung so i was hoping to get as much info as i can. Sorry to ask so many questions! Hope u dont find it a chore…

        Thanks once again!

      • travelnblog November 16, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

        @Tong Huat: Yah..NT6000 is kinda steep 😡 If i’m not wrong, Stonehouse has a working tie-up up with Mr Chen (and it’s drivers). I would suggest you to e-mail ask her for the rates, perhaps there have been changes.

        I will not recommend touring Hualien on your own because there are many beautiful sites that are not accessible by public transport. A tour would make the trip more worthwhile because you get to explore a lot of places.

        Yes! i went to Taichung City before..We stayed a night in Galerie Hotel and went to Feng Jia Night Market. Then we went to Sun Moon Lake (further away from the city)…

        I hope that helps! Let me know if you have got any other questions! (and don’t have to feel sorry ~~ 🙂 )

      • Tong Huat November 17, 2010 at 11:50 am #

        Ok, i will email her to check out the current rates, typing in chinese would be a torture for me though. haha. Hope the tour charges will be cheaper now =)

        Thank you very much for your help! You have been a great help in answering my doubts!!

        And i must say that you are quite awesome to go on trips alone! Don’t think i will ever do that.. =)

        Cheers

      • travelnblog November 18, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

        @Tong Huat: You can e-mail her in simple English, that shouldn’t be a problem 🙂

        You’re most welcome!! Yes i know..i don’t know where did the courage come from! A spur of the moment i must say :p

  6. Dave November 13, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    Hi,

    Good photos and helpful notes U have here on Stone Minsu, Hualien! 🙂

    I’ll be most glad to share your Taiwan pages with readers in my Taiwan travel sites.
    Shall we exchange links?

    Thanks.

    • travelnblog November 15, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

      @Dave: Thanks! It’s my pleasure to share your links on my site. Lots of information you’ve got there! 🙂

  7. cel February 27, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    Hi, I am interested to book the Stone House minsu for my TW trip in June. Can i check with you regarding the payment as i am not sure how i can transfer the money to the Stone House people?

    • travelnblog February 27, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

      hey there! thanks for dropping by : )
      you don’t need to make any payment prior to your arrival. Reservation is actually based on “trust”. This is very common with Taiwan accommodation. You just have to email or phone them to make your booking…a few days before your arrival, drop them a call to confirm (and remind) them again. You will only pay upon check-in.

      Hope that helps!

  8. Doris March 29, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    Hi, chance by your blog and it is really very helpful. Thanks for sharing! I have actually dropped Mdm Liu an email before this but I think she do not really understand my email as her answer did not answer my query… haha~ Are you able to help me ?

    I will be going to Taiwan in July and was planning to go Hualien from Taoyuan airport to stay for 2D1N before going back to Taipei. Not sure if it 2D1N is enough as I think by the time i reach Hualien is already late afternoon as I land in Taoyuan airport at 12pm. Are you able to advice me if you know how to get from taoyuan airport to hualien ?

    Another question is how to I actually book with Mdm Liu ? When I book must I also tell her that I want to charter a car for the tour or it actuallly comes with ?

    So sorry for this long enquiry as I am really confused… so scare everything go hay wire …

Leave a comment